Northern NY Driving Academy
New Law Effective May 1st 2014
All individuals born on or after 5/1/96 are now required to successfully complete an approved course in boater education in order to operate a motorboat. Approved courses include those offered by NYS Parks, the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary or the U.S. Power Squadron. Individuals less than 10 years of age may not take this course of instruction. Certain allowances to this law have been made for visitors to New York, persons renting a boat from a livery and persons purchasing a new boat for the first time. Please refer to Frequently Asked Questions for more information. Find a Boating Safety Course near you.
New Laws for Personal Watercraft Operation as of 1/1/2004.
Anyone operating a PWC in New York State will need to complete a boating safety course and obtain a State Certification. A safety certificate may be obtained only by completing the New York Safe Boating Course, sponsoredby the Office of Parks, Recreation & Historic Preservation.
Throughout the state providers may teach the New York Safe Boating Course for a fee In addition to teaching the particulars of handling a PWC, the courses will also be beneficial for any boater wishing to learn more about the rules of the road, reading buoys, boat handling, and other boating safety related topics.
The course is designed as a comprehensive boating and safety course. Many Boat insurance providers offer discounts on premiums to boat owners who have completed a course and have earned a safe boating certificate.
If you have a group of friends, Family or co-workers we will do a special class at a discount price depending on the size of the group. Call for details.
Class space is limited please sign up early. Checks and money orders Payable to NNYDA. Call 518-562-8675 and speak to Rick
E-MAIL to: email@example.com to sign up or for more info.
2015 NYS Boater Safety Course
BOATING SAFETY SAVES LIVES
NEXT CLASS TBA
$25.00 per person
NY Approved Online
Boating Safety Course